Training..Strikes…Pervs…

It’s been a bit. By my standards, anyway. The past few days have been spent at a sort-of impromptu Microsoft Sharepoint training. Which was actually going on during a nationwide strike. Yeah, Nigeria was on strike. Again. Because the price of fuel was increased. Again. It wasn’t so bad really, those 3 days were days of bliss. No-one was going to work, or anywhere for that matter, cos they thought it would be dangerous, (and also cos no-one had fuel). So, getting to work was a breeze. We went to one of our branches for the training, and everyone donned their jeans for a day of free food, funny anecdotes and oh yeah, “learning”.

Yeah, we learnt alright. Had this really nice trainer from South Africa, Johan. We learnt about his family, his love life, we learnt about our manager’s love life (très awkward), we discussed life in SA, life in Nigeria, money, fuel prices, marriage, kids, jobs, economies, weight, food, and occasionally we actually discussed Sharepoint.

It was a lot better than I expected. I was looking forward to six days of battling to stay awake and daydreaming while some dull guy rambled on and on.

Our co-trainer, a 30-something Nigerian, I followed him home on Friday. He’s a perv. It was our first conversation and he started going on about SA, and how he saw lesbians for the first time, and asking if I was a lesbian…wasn’t I curious, lesbians, lesbians, lesbians, homosexuals were sinful… but lesbians… then he moved on to 3-somes… It was one of those REALLY long rides home. I felt like jumping out the window.

We also tried out the new MS Office. Oh, it’s lovely. If you don’t have it, you should get it. I admit, I’m a sucker for pretty stuff, and this was pretty. 🙂 And because I can be a total idiot, I saved this entry in the new format and had to download a patch to open it on another system…

I was disappointed to realise the strike was over. It meant I had to actually get dressed for training this morning. AND, I have to get back to the office once it’s done. ‘Tis but a shame. I mean, it’s all good for the country that they came to a compromise and everything, but … you know where I’m coming from. Everyone else was chuffed, cos they were actually BORED. Ungrateful twats.

3 thoughts on “Training..Strikes…Pervs…

  1. Onyeka, I think we should start ourselves what it is about us that attracts weirdos. I don’t think this kind of thing happens to every woman. Or maybe I’m just ignorant to on-goings in other people’s lives.

  2. I don’t think so, either, it makes me wonder. Actually, no, it makes me concerned and angry. It’s not like I’m a freak or anything….!?!?

Leave a Reply

