Stick it in Your Eye – Why I Think I Rock (1)

I haven’t updated in… a while. I wish I had a good reason this time, like an illness or a trip to some exotic location. However, the simple thing is this: I was uninspired. Everyday it crossed my mind that I wanted to blog… but I didn’t. A couple of times I actually started a couple of posts, but I lost my fire halfway through. Again, no real reason for that either. Maybe I just had things on my mind that were beyond blogging about.

That said, I’ve been feeling strongly about a lot of things – like inequality to women, and Nigerian greed, and Obama running for President of the US, and total annihilation of mankind. I’ve also been nursing some scarily VIOLENT homicidal tendencies again (one of such was when I imagined beating a robber to death with my ultra large umbrella; I admit it freaked even me out).

I’ve been doing a lot of random, stupid stuff, like Social Networking. If you look to the right of my blog, you’ll see my Twitter updates :). I have also been accused of using ‘nerd slangs’ like ‘W00t’. I’ve been hearing that a lot more these days. Darkman actually called me ‘gadget girl’ once. Or twice. Just cos I have a huge action-packed iPod, a bulky phone and have my eyes greedily set on an HP dv9000t (*experiences a moment of euphoria at the thought*). A colleague once said I was almost a tomboy, too. Hmm.

I was reading a couple of things here and there, and being in a relationship has mad me really reflect on a few things about the future and marriage and (*gasp*) kids, and my career and after getting myself worked up over SOME things, I just thought, ‘you know what? Screw it. I rock.’ So for any guy/girl out there:

  1. Yeah, I’m a bit of a nerd. I embrace the classification wholeheartedly. I’ve played with computers since the days of DOS, and I still play with them now. Fair enough, I realised on Tuesday that I had an installaholic syndrome of just randomly installing any software that tickles my fancy (and you think after all this time I’d learn). I love playing games, I love phones chock full of features, I love just playing around brand new shiny laptops and pressing buttons (think of Dee-Dee, you’re close). I can successfully spend 24hrs on the net and not get bored. I’m now privy to saying things like, ‘OMG’ and ‘WTF’ in real life, and I love it.
  2. Yeah, I listen to weird, obscure music. BITE ME for having a musical taste that spans beyond Boyz II Men and 2face. Yes, I listen to all the tracks on those popular albums no-one listens to. They’re actually good! So what, I listen to Enya while working, and Linkin Park when power-walking. Got a problem?
  3. 3. Yeah, I’m a feminist. I think I fully accepted that fact this week. If any of you have happened to venture onto Nairaland’s Romance section recently, you’d see all the sort-of objectifyingly pointless topics on the ideal woman, and Nigerian women don’t do this and don’t that, and I admit, I got a bit peeved. Yeah, that’s right. You put up your feet up dear husband, and act like making money is so hard. Yet you want ur ‘perfect wife’ to be hot, good-looking, great in bed, great in the kitchen, employed, have a basketball team for children, a housekeeper, and SOMEHOW, also be loving and caring and submissive. *Eye roll*. I don’t do submissive. I can be feisty, and I HATE getting the lower end of the stick. And none of you give me that, oh, but it’s women’s lot. Yeah, WHATEVER. If you’re treating me like crap, you’ll have no peace. Guaranteed.
  4. Yeah, I don’t REALLY care what you think. I mean, I don’t come off as a snob. Or a b****. But I’m not going to bend over backwards to impress anyone. If you don’t like me, it’s not taking years of my life. I have enough friends already.
  5. Yeah, I’m never going to be THAT chick. I’m never going to enjoy shopping of any kind. I’m never going to care if I’m wearing the ‘latest’ fashion, whatever it is. I believe in timeless clothing. Nicely cut jeans with a flirty, sort-of low cut top never grows old. And no, I never saw the beauty in skinny jeans, and bright yellow bags. I can’t be bothered with 4 layers of make-up. Got pimples? They’ll go one day. No point lying to the general public. Lip gloss is still the best and only necessary form of makeup ever invented. Half the time, you’re going to catch me with my natural hair. It’s not long and glorious, is almost always due and in my weird permed style, and hasn’t been black since I was a kid. I look presentable and I still have stalkers, so I must be doing SOMETHING right.
  6. Yeah, you know what? I’m overweight. I know. I look in the mirror everyday. Telling me that I am hasn’t taken the pounds off. If you like everything about me but my belly, you’ve got a problem I can’t help you address.
  7. Yeah, I’m not a homely person. I clean my house because I have to. And I cook because it’s the only alternative to starvation. I’m no Jamie Oliver. I mean, I have most recipes up there in my head I think, and I’ve successfully done many dishes countless times, but if you’re looking for that gourmet Nigerian dinner of pounded yam and egusi soup, you’re on your own. If I’m a guest at YOUR house, you’d have to give me a really good reason (preferably financial, lulz) as to why I should enter YOUR kitchen or suddenly clean YOUR mess just cos I’m there.
  8. Yeah, I’m a chick, but I’m not shallow. I feel embarrassed when chicks out there have this quest for money. I don’t get it. They have their own. They should spend it.
  9. I really don’t need a guy. No guy has gotten me to where I am, and I refuse to compromise just so I can have a MRS attached to my name in forms.
  10. Speaking of which, I have no plans of getting married before I’m 26. Where’s the rush? What’s the big deal? Ok, you’re married. So? What’s that magical benefit you’re receiving? You want kids now? Why? What’s the difference between today and next 2 years? Do you think marriage is child’s play? Do you think raising a family when you can barely feed yourself is fun? What’s wrong with you?

There’s probably more. But I’m tired. And believe it or not, I actually have work to do. To be continued. Peace.

9 thoughts on “Stick it in Your Eye – Why I Think I Rock (1)

  1. Dammm this is a random rant….

    Did you plan to rant or was it the mood?

    Good read though…Funny enough if asked to describe ur personality I would have said…..

    she is a bit of a nerd…
    a feminist
    probably a snob
    and hates babes with a quest for money….

    you come off that way…

    oh and she doesn’t get our quest for being first so I will refrain from yelling first!!!

  2. mesma:my, my, my… where did all THAT come from? good read tho and got me saying ‘amen sista’ to sum!!

  3. you go girl…
    say more..
    although i’ll slightly cover my face as i admit i’m one of those who once in a while loves the four layer make up.

    i love gadgets too, but not in your didi kind of way, i would never go out of my way to annoy dexter…lol

    i hate house keeping…really sucks that its a neccesity.

    i need no man, but then i want to be married by 26, no special price, but i think a lot of things would fall into perspective for me. i’ll be done with that bit and able to focus on other stuff.

    i’m a feminist, but one who knows it aint a crime to be taken care of sometimes.

    i noticed the feminist bit about you. you’re so passionate about it…rock on. girl power yeah?

  4. WOW..that’s all I can muster for now.
    That was well written, sometimes funny, and sometimes serious, but very honest. Me like.

    We are alike in some ways, I would say. I don’t care what people think about me. That’s their problem!

    But about the hair thing…I laughed really hard. I don’t feel comfortable on days when my hair looks less than perfect. Due? Oh no. I don’t do due! lol

  5. ekene

    @mesma
    What can i say, I get a bit… spirited at times… 🙂

    @fantasy queen
    hey, all the powwer to you. I have nothing against the taking care of thing… I am human afterall.
    I dont know when i became so passionate about the feminist thing though. Sometimes I worry myself!!!

    @naija chickito
    my dear, its not like I always enjoy the hair, but i cant die. If there’s no time to do it, then so be it, give me a comb!

  6. Be comfortable in your own skin is what I say.And there are more closet Nigerian rock lovers out there than you’d believe.

    Consider it as a screening tool:people who immediately condemn something(rock music,anime,)on the basis of it not being for your race or sex or nationality without at least trying it out are often not worth knowing,IMO.

    Ah,dear Nairaland.TBH,most guys I know would like a babe who can cook,is great in bed,smart and can manage a household(no basketball team pls,gets in the way of great sex :))

    But then most women would paint their ideal guy as smart,good loking,financially comfortable(at least),great with the kids,assertive yet willing to give you space,help with the household chores,great in bed,not a philanderer,accomodating(which is a very vague term,by the way),gets along with your family,et cetera.

    We all have wishlists.We never get everything we (theoretically)want.C’est la vie.

    Ultimately,most people seem to want a partner.Senior partner,junior partner or equal,that’s what it boils down to.Why?Because nobody wants to be lonely(to paraphrase Ricky Martin).Because everyone wants to be needed.And by the time you hit your thirties and even your closest friends have additional responsibilities they have to put first,you will want someone for whom you are his/her primary concern.

    I think I’ll stop here before I fill up your comments page:)

    And I suggest you restrict the nerdspeak to people who understand it:)

Leave a Reply

